Hibernate button disappears in Vista

24Feb08

Vista has changed the way power management works. With its hybrid power management when you put the PC into sleep mode. The PC will remain in low power consumption mode for about 3 hours before it switches automatically to hibernate. Well but I know you might just want to have the hibernate option in your shutdown options. Or you might have had this option but it disappeared.

The hibernate button can disappear after a disk cleanup. After you delete the hibernate file. Anyway there is a quick way to get back the hibernate button. Click on your Vista start menu and immediately type command then right click on the command prompt. Make sure you choose to run as administrator.

Then Key the following command:

powercfg /hibernate on

Now check your shutdown options you should see the hibernate option appear again.



13 Responses to “Hibernate button disappears in Vista”

  1. 1 venkat

    for me hibernet button not came

  2. 2 Gizmo

    Thanks very much, this really helped me out! =)

  3. 3 Vishal Gupta

    Thanks Dude really hepled me

  4. hi i have done this even though i am the administrator it is telling me i do not have permision so dont really know what to do

  5. 5 Steve

    Ty mate, really good, just important about where the spaces are, copy it exactly.

    cheers

  6. thank you 🙂 it helped me too 🙂

  7. 7 Marta

    Hi,

    Wished it would’ve worked. I am at my wits end one of a number of issues; about to run a repair.

    Thanks the same 🙂

  8. thanx alot
    u r a great guy
    it was more than helpful to me

  9. 9 Simona

    Thanks, it works for me

  10. wow..i’m searching for this post for a long time..and now I found it..it works

  11. AHH Awesome!!! Thanks this really helped me soo much, I always use hibernate. THANKS it worked!! 🙂

  12. Thx worked great!!!!

  13. 13 Malik

    Guys,

    It helped me a lot. Thank you so much.


Leave a comment